13 regions of Europe have come together to form a semiconductor alliance

10 Mar 2023

On 10 March 2023, 13 microelectronics regions from nine EU member states invited to a high-level event in Brussels with representatives of EU institutions including Commissioner Breton and industry to discuss the prospects of the European semiconductor ecosystem, signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU). In the spirit of Silicon Europe, the 13 regions have come together to initiate an alliance of European semiconductor regions was initiated last Monday in Brussels.

Members of the regional alliance are: Basque Country (ES), Bavaria (DE), Centro-Region (PT), Flanders (BE), Carinthia (AT), Catalonia (ES), North Brabant (NL), Overijssel (NL), Piedmont (IT), Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur (FR), Saxony (DE), Styria (AT) and South Moravia (CZ). Further regions will follow soon says Silicon Europe.

The aim is to discuss the prospects of the European semiconductor ecosystem as part of Silicon Europe to jointly strengthen growth and increase the competitive share of the European semiconductor industry through joint research & innovation, skills & talent development as well as cluster development & cooperation.